Archbishop’s House
8 Shadwell Street
B4 6EY

0121 236 9090

» Dioceses » Birmingham


The Archdiocese of Birmingham is divided into the three Pastoral Areas of Birmingham, Kidderminster and Worcester.

These areas in turn cover Birmingham, Berkshire (North of the Thames), Coventry, Dudley, Oxfordshire (North of the Thames), Sandwell, Solihull, Staffordshire, Stoke-on-Trent, Warwickshire, Walsall, Wolverhampton and Worcestershire.

The Archbishop of Birmingham is the Most Reverend Bernard Longley.

You can read our short profile of Archbishop Longley in our Diocesan Bishops section.

He is assisted by two auxiliary bishops, the Right Reverend William Kenney CP and the Right Reverend David McGough.

You can also find out more about St Chad’s Cathedral (Minor Basilica), Queensway, Birmingham.


Visit the Archdiocese of Birmingham’s website.

Metropolitan Cathedral Church and Basilica of Saint Chad

St Chad's was the first Catholic cathedral erected in England after the English Reformation initiated in 1534 by King Henry VIII.