The White House
21 Upgate
NR14 7SH

» Dioceses » East Anglia

East Anglia

The Diocese of East Anglia spans the Counties of Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and the Unitary Authority of Peterborough.

It was formed by Papal decree on 13 March 1976.

The diocese is twinned with the Apostolic Prefecture of Battambang in Cambodia, and the Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem.

The Bishop of East Anglia is the Right Reverend Alan Hopes.

You can read a short biography of Bishop Hopes in our Diocesan Bishops section.

You can also find out more about the Cathedral Church of St John the Baptist in Norwich.


Visit the Diocese of East Anglia’s website.

Cathedral of St John the Baptist

The Cathedral of St John the Baptist is a fine example of the great Victorian Gothic Revival.