The Pastoral Centre
Balmoral Road

01524 596050

» Dioceses » Lancaster


The Diocese of Lancaster extends along the west of England from the Ribble River in the south of Preston to the Scottish border, comprising the counties of Cumbria and much of Lancashire.

The diocese borders the dioceses of Hexham and Newcastle, Middlesborough, Leeds, Salford and Liverpool.

The Bishop of Lancaster is the Right Reverend Paul Swarbrick.

You can read a short biography of Bishop Swarbrick in our Diocesan Bishops section.

You can also find out more about the┬áCathedral Church of St Peter in Lancaster. The cathedral has the motto “Our Goal is the Kingdom of God”.


Visit the Diocese of Lancaster‘s website.

Cathedral Church of St Peter

Lancaster Cathedral, also known as The Cathedral Church of St Peter. It towers above its superb location overlooking Lancaster and Lancaster Canal.