Croxteth Drive
Sefton Park
L17 1AA

0151 522 1000

» Dioceses » Liverpool


The Archdiocese of Liverpool covers the city itself and the surrounding areas including Wigan, St Helens, Southport and the Isle of Man.

The Archbishop of Liverpool is the Most Reverend Malcolm McMahon.

You can read a short biography of Archbishop McMahon in our Diocesan Bishops section.

He is assisted by an auxiliary Bishop, the Right Reverend Tom Williams.

You can also find out more about the iconic Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King that stands at one end of Hope Street with the Anglican cathedral at the other.

You can also visit the Archdiocese of Liverpool’s website.

Metropolitan Cathedral of Christ the King

Architects throughout the world were invited in 1960 to design a Cathedral for Liverpool which would relate to the existing Crypt, be capable of construction within five years and most important of all, express the new spirit of the liturgy then being reformulated by the Second Vatican Council.